Today, September 8, 2021 Elana Rabinovitch, Executive Director of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, announced the 2021 longlist. The Giller Prize, founded by Jack Rabinovitch in 1994, highlights the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. Last year’s winner, Souvankham Thammavongsa announced the list today on It was also announced via the Scotiabank Giller Prize’s YouTube and Facebook page.

The 12 titles were chosen from a field of 132 books submitted by publishers from across Canada. This year the Prize celebrates its 28th anniversary. B.C.’s independent publishers Arsenal Pulp press and Douglas & McIntyre make the longlist for the 2021 Scotiabank Giller Prize.



Casey PlettA Dream of a Woman, published by Arsenal Pulp Press

A Dream of a Woman | Arsenal Pulp Press



Rachel RoseThe Octopus Has Three Hearts, published by Douglas & McIntyre

The Octopus Has Three Hearts – Douglas & McIntyre

The longlist was selected by an esteemed panel of five judges: Canadian authors Zalika Reid-Benta (Jury Chair), Megan Gail ColesJoshua Whitehead, Malaysian novelist, Tash Aw and American author, Joshua Ferris. Each judge was given access to a complimentary account, providing an opportunity to listen to the submissions that were available on Audible’s service.

Watch the 2021 Scotiabank Giller Prize on Monday, November 8, at 9 p.m. ET (11:30 AT, 12 midnight NT) on CBC and the free CBC Gem streaming service.