The West Coast Book Prize Society is thrilled to have announced the winners of the 38th annual BC and Yukon Book Prizes. Prizes are awarded annually to recognize the achievements of BC and Yukon authors, illustrators and publishers. Award winners are selected through a juried system, with five finalists in each prize category, including the winner selected in each prize category.

Here is the list of the 2022 BC and Yukon Book Prizes winners:

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize (literary fiction)

The Book of Form and Emptiness

Ruth Ozeki

(Viking/Penguin Random House Canada)



Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize (literary nonfiction)


Jordan Abel

(McClelland & Stewart/Penguin Random House Canada)



Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

Luschiim’s Plants: Traditional Indigenous Foods, Materials and Medicine

Dr. Luschiim Arvid Charlie and Nancy J. Turner

(Harbour Publishing)



Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

No Shelter

Henry Doyle

(Anvil Press)



Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes

Border and Rule: Global Migration, Capitalism, and the Rise of Racist Nationalism

Harsha Walia

(Fernwood Publishing)



Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize 

Time is a Flower

Julie Morstad

 (Tundra Books/Penguin Random House Canada)



Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize 

Boy from Buchenwald: The True Story of a Holocaust Survivor

Robbie Waisman with Susan McClelland

(Bloomsbury/Raincoast Books)



Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award

Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest

Suzanne Simard

(Allen Lane Canada/Penguin Random House)