BC Artists Well Represented at the 2018 Juno Awards

The 2018 Juno award nominations were announced this morning and British Columbia artists from across the province are well-represented.

Within the nominations, the BC Music Fund has supported a variety of the artists including: Hedley, Lights, Peregrine Falls, Five Alarm Funk, Bobs & Lolo

Other BC Nominees: Michael Buble, Dean Brody, Nickleback, Bria Skonberg, Anciients, Felix Cartal, Ivan Decker, Charles Demers, Ben Kaplan.

Dean Brody originally from Jaffray, BC, is nominated for Country Album of the Year for his album, Beautiful Freakshow. 

Hosted by Michael Bublé, the 47th annual JUNO Awards ceremony will take place in Vancouver on Sunday, March 25 at Rogers Arena.  The show will be broadcast and live streamed via CBC.

Also, Hedley will be performing at the awards. 

A full list of the nominees from British Columbia are listed below, the entire list of JUNOs nominees is available on their website.

JUNO Fan Choice Award

Artist of the Year

Group of the Year

Pop Album of the Year
Skin & Earth – Lights
Cageless – Hedley 

Album of the Year
Nobody But Me – Michael Bublé

Comedy Album of the Year
I Wanted To Be A Dinosaur – Ivan Decker
Fatherhood – Charlie Demers

Country Album of the Year

Beautiful Freakshow – Dean Brody


Rock Album of the Year
Feed The Machine – Nickelback
Vocal Jazz Album of the Year
With a Twist – Bria Skonberg
Turn Up the Quiet – Diana Krall
Jazz Album of the Year: Group
Infinitude – Christine Jensen & Ingrid Jensen

Instrumental Album of the Year
Peregrine Falls – Peregrine Falls * funded through Careers/Sound Recording, this album?
Sweat – Five Alarm Funk * funded through Sound Recording – this album?

Children’s Album of the Year
Blue Skies – Bobs & LoLo

Classical Composition of the Year
My Name is Amanda Todd – Jocelyn Morlock

Dance Recording of the Year
Get What You Give – Felix Cartal


Jack Richardson Producer of the Year
“Better Days” (co-producer Jacob Hoggard) CAGELESS – Hedley, “The Drugs” (co-producer Ryan Guldemond) NO CULTURE – Mother Mother
Brian Howes & Jason Van Poederooyen

“Get What You Give” GET WHAT YOU GIVE – Felix Cartal, “Drifting Away” DRIFTING AWAY – Felix Cartal
Felix Cartal
“L-O-V-E”, “Night and Day” (co-producer Tommy Lipuma) TURN UP THE QUIET – Diana Krall
Diana Krall

Recording Engineer of the Year
“Widowmaker” SWEAT – Five Alarm Funk, “Speak” SPÜKEN – Ninjaspy
Ben Kaplan * Five Alarm Fund was funded, for this album?

Video of the Year
Emma Higgins – THE DRUGS – Mother Mother * Mother Mother was funded
Grimes (Claire Boucher) VENUS FLY – Grimes (born in BC)

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year
Voice of the Void – Anciients

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year
Nobody But Me – Michael Bublé